Time is precious

Generally the holidays are a time to decompress, spend time with family and friends and enjoy some feasting along the way.

Although I did do all of the above, I also agreed to dog sit. Mind you, I have never owned a pet let alone a dog in my life.

Besides the peeing and pooping on my carpets and destruction of handmade gifts I had kept for years things were generally going well. That is, until the third day I had noticed the dog (by the name of Mercy) had low energy and was not eating. By that evening it seemed like she was having breathing issues, so we took her to Calgary North Veterinary clinic, open 24h for emergencies.

Mercy had fluid in her lungs and when they started to drain it, they found she was hemorrhaging. It was a life and death situation at this point and they had to tap her chest to remove the blood. It turns out her clotting factors had been diminished due to acute toxicity by exposure to rat or mouse poison in the last 3-5 days. We don’t know how or when this happened, but as a puppy she could have gotten into anything, it could have been something outside she had stepped in, who knows.

It was a sad and stressful few days as we prayed for Mercy.

On New Year’s eve Mercy was released from hospital, surviving the incident. Her and I spent the night together on the couch, I don’t even think that we made it to count down before we both passed out.

Although I am not an animal person and would probably never own a pet, I have bonded to this one in particular. It was definitely not the NYE I had planned for, but the lessons I have learned over the last week give me an appreciation for life going into 2017.

You never know when it will end, when you will go from a rambunctious puppy to fighting for your life.

Time is precious.

“The trouble is, you think you have time.”

So love harder, enjoy each moment and don’t take anything for granted, even the puppy that you once couldn’t wait to get back to her owner, and now has a piece of your heart.

20170101_092400.jpg

This is Mercy, who I think is named appropriately:

Mercy: “a blessing that is an act of divine favor or compassion, also a fortunate circumstance”

 

 

Leave a Reply

