Knock on Opportunity’s Door

Knock on opportunity’s door, and when there is no answer keep knocking. Find all of the doors and keep knocking. Then, find the windows, either someone you know, or someone that sees your effort will eventually let you in.

This post is for anyone that is just starting out, whether that be as a potential teacher or anyone pursuing something new for the first time. I will share my stories, of how I got my opportunities in this city, maybe if just to spark a bit of inspiration. To encourage you to go for things, even if you may or may not know what exactly it is you are reaching for. To ride through the waves of disappointment and rejection, and to keep trying.

I completed my first 200 YTT in 2011, (for anyone that doesn’t know that is a 200h yoga teacher training) and at that point I did not really want to teach. Although I did dabble with a few private lessons here and there, these were far and few in between. This did however plant the seed for the things to come in my life years later.

Coming back to Calgary that year, I did a few random things, one of which was working at Village Ice Cream. I figured after completing my Honours degree in Biotechnology, why not? During my stint at Village Ice Cream I also started teaching MMA Bootcamps at Athlima Fitness, which is run out of the martial arts studio where I had completed my black belt. I had originally asked the owner of Athlima, Master Bobby Triantifillou if he need a yoga teacher, and instead he was looking for a trainer. I began training at Athlima, and started to lead weekly bootcamps.

What started as a hobby for me soon turned into a passion as I found my foothold in fitness.

Seeing results in my own body and mind created the impetus to pursue fitness further. Completing my personal training certification was the start, as I decided to deepen my knowledge in yoga, movement and all things that made me feel alive.

At the beginning of 2016 I took a Yin Yoga Teacher Training with Ning Gao. Ning’s personal story is quite inspiring, and her strength as a yogi and teacher drew me to the Yoga and Beyond community. There was one night I arrived late at the training and was locked out, instead of leaving I decided to stay. Shortly after the training I got a call from Ning saying there were a few spots at the studio open to teach. This was my first official teaching position as a yoga instructor at a studio.

My second try at a studio position was at illume hot yoga, which I chose initially because of its proximity to my house. At first they were not hiring for yoga teachers. One day I was passing by the studio and the owner, Telara Renz called me in and asked if I would be interested in Surfset. Not knowing what that was I took the opportunity to learn and expand. Eight months later I am teaching not only surfset, but yoga as well as spin at illume.

This last story, and probably most interesting, is how I was hired on by Undrcard Boxing Studio. I had applied online and got the generic HR reply, “we are full but will keep your resume on file etc etc”. In the meantime I had interviewed for a few other studios. Around the same time, local photographer Asim Overstands and I decided to do a shoot. We had been in discussion about shooting for about a year but I never felt ready. Asim made the process really casual and I was actually happy with the results. He posted a moving portrait of me shadow boxing on his instagram feed and Joanna Magik, a co-owner of Undrcard came across it. We were introduced via Asim via email and I was invited to Undrcard’s second pop-up event at Commonwealth. I met some of the team and mid-way through the event was told I was part of the crew!

IMG_1164.jpg

#UNDRCARDPOPUP at Commonwealth, photo via Michael Benz.

So there you have it, a mix of connections, fortune, timing, and tenacity got me to where I am today.

Here’s the video by Asim

 

 

Leave a Reply

