Fear of Failure

Some people are afraid of failing, so much so that it paralyzes them, preventing them from reaching for goals or working toward any dreams they may have. I will share a recent story of one of my personal “failures”, in hopes of inspiring you to go for what you want in life – all in, balls out.

As many of you who have been following my fitness journey know, I had been with Undrcard Boxing Studio up until recently, when I stopped spamming my ig feed with self-promo for my classes there.

Truth is, I got cut. Notwithstanding I had some of the shittiest time slots, but at the end of the day people weren’t coming to my class in numbers that were expected. At first when this happened I was really sad, it shook my confidence as an instructor. Overtime though, I came to accept the fact and realized, maybe I am just not marketable as a boxing coach. It sucks.

Lessons learned though, you will never know until you try. At this point, I have no fear of failing, there are far worse things in life. So my friends, fail greatly, fail publicly, fail often but keep your head up and try again.

I can accept failure, everyone fails at something. But I can’t accept not trying. ~Michael Jordan

This experience though, will not stop me for trying to be the best fitness instructor I can. I still work at all my other studios and have recently joined the team at Fithouse, which is a beautiful space with amazing coaches. Crossfit is another challenge I am excited to take on. I also have no regrets being at Undrcard for the time I was there, I have met some lifelong friends that I know will continue to inspire me throughout life.

I don’t know where this fitness thing will eventually lead me, I only know that I have big dreams that are bigger than any one studio.

 Success is not final, failure is not fatal: it is the courage to continue that counts.” ~Winston Churchill.

I miss all the trainers at Undrcard, but I still go there to box, this was awkward for me at first, explaining to people why I wasn’t teaching anymore, but I got over it. It’s still one of my favourite boxing gyms in the city, even though they did fire me.

UndercardHead__13

UndercardHead__8

UndercardHead__9

Photos by Jess Bobyn

 

Leave a Reply

